A Re-introduction of Sorts

I started Embrace This Joyful Life early this summer. I had been writing at Joyful Wife Joyful Life, but I felt I needed to make a few changes. I am a very joyful and blessed wife to an amazing husband, but my heart in this ministry is more than just focusing on marriage. I have a heart for helping women to see what a beautiful life we live and – as my title reflects – teach them to joyfully embrace it. I write because I want to help women from all stages of life live for Christ first and foremost and next serve their families. I write because God has given me a calling of words and if they can help even one person I feel like I’m fulfilling that call.

Summer 2014 315

Looking back through posts I made this summer I realized I’ve never introduced myself. I am not writing this blog so that you can see me (my goal is for you to see Christ Jesus) but I want to foster a sense of sitting togther in my living room sipping coffee and sharing our hearts. I feel there are times I read things and know the author and they speak more deeply to me than when I don’t know whose heart it’s coming from.

Amber Durgan who blogs at Embrace this Joyful Life. Amber writes to us from her home in Montana. Mother to an active toddler boy, Amber spends her days doing her best to embrace the “grand adventure” of life. Her blogging mission is to inspire others to live a more passionate and joy-filled life, centered around the true Source of happiness, Jesus Christ”.


This is how you will see me describe myself when I am guest posting for someone. I will unpack this statement a bit for you and then just for fun, I thought I would tell you 10 more things about myself to help you get to know me a little more.

* First and foremost thing I tell everyone is that I am a Christian living my every moment for Christ. He is first in my life and I don’t apologize for that. I am not perfect, I am simply a sinner saved by His amazing grace.
* My husband’s name is Lance. He works as an engineer, but we also help out on the family ranch. It’s 90 minutes West of where we are. His parents run it but we are often back there and he helps them out a ton. We were married on April 27th 2013, so we’re coming up on our 5th wedding anniversary. I love that man!!

Summer 2014 356

* Our son Matthew (2) was born on September 21st 2015 and is the light of our lives. His name means “gift of God” and he has certainly been one of the best gifts!!! I am able to stay home with him and he keeps me very busy. He is full of little boy adventure and really never stops moving. We wouldn’t have it any other way.

Matthewthomas

* We live in the Pacific northwest- we are in South central Montana – living where the mountains meet the prairie. We love it here and feel blessed to call it home.

1). If I could have chosen any time period in which to live, it would be the mid-late 1800’s. Little House on the Prairie is my jam. I just love that era.
2). Motherhood is a large part of my calling. I was born on Mothers day and my first Mothers day as a momma was on my birthday. So that was super special.
3). I am a bookworm and absolutely love losing myself in a good book. My favorite book (series) I read this year was The Yada Yada Prayer Group books by Neta Jackson.
4). My hobbies (other than reading and writing) include photography and quilting. Other than using my cellphone to capture quick photos I have not given either of these the time or attention I wish I could in the recent months.
5). I am part of a very small percentage of people that still have all 4 grandparents living. My grandparents are giants in my life and a lot of who I am today reflects them.

6). I am not a hot drink person outside of hot cocoa. I like iced tea and blended coffee year round.
7). I really would like to travel to the Mediterranean (Greece, Italy, Turkey) one day.
8). My favorite international food is Greek – followed closely by Mexican.
9). I’ve always been a Pacific Northwest girl. I was born in Washington, moved briefly to California and was raised in Idaho. I moved to Montana in January 2011 a month before I met Lance.

10). My heritage (I think) is German, English, Irish and Finnish. I really would love to do Ancestry DNA one day to discover where my roots really extend.

Well friends, that gives you a little better idea of who I am. I hope that when you read my future posts you feel like you know me more now.

Have a great week!

Next week: Interview with Rebekah Hargraves on her soon-to-be-released book: Lies Moms Believe (And How the Gospel Refutes Them).

Leave a comment